Taking the Epistle

A biblical journey through the epistles

Bear one anothers burdens

20140402-230325.jpg

Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ. Galatians 6:2 (ESV)

We all have troubles, we all have issues and one mans issues may not be anothers. I know that in my life, the things that I have found easy I have observed others have difficulty in. Also I have seen areas where it has taken me longer to get over things, other folks just skip over and it is no big deal. Does that mean I am a better or worse Christian than others? I think not! I just have different areas.

As Christians we seem to have a judgmental attitude when one of our brothers fall, too often have I seen a brother fall from grace and seen folks whom I expected better having a kick at him (not literally) as he is on the way down. We also have a hierarchy of sin and have deemed some sins lesser than others.

Verse one of this chapter (Which I hope to cover in more depth in another article) talks about not submitting again to a slave’s yolk. Not to be “overtaken” not to be consumed, whilst this is a personal choice, we as the greater body of Christ have a due diligence to our brothers and sisters that are struggling to help them in whatever way we can.

Verse one speaks of the restoration process and then comes on to discuss that we should “Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ”. The first thing that strikes me from this passage is the wording. That we (as the church) should be pro-active in lightening the load of our brother.

On the flip side, we cannot be expecting our brothers if they are not versed in looking for burdens to expect them to just magically know all of our problems and bear them always, if we need help we also have to stay clear of pride, frustration, depression, hurt and distancing from the body at large. (I know, I have been through this personally) It is likely that the person who is “heavy laden” will not be advertising that they are going through what they are going through. So this is why we have to connect and have good quality koinonia in order to effectively help one another and genuinely care.

We have to be outwardly focused and help when you can, the burden maybe overwhelming to one, but with many hands turning the wheel it maybe easier for the afflicted brother or sister. Sometimes it is something as easy as helping them with a difficult chore such as yard work or a house repair. (I have had a pastor once offer to fix my toilet!) It doesn’t need always to be a 12 step program or really complicated. We don’t always need “ministry names”, “huge budgets” or even “leadership approval” to just go out there and help.

There is an assumption in this passage that we are all going to struggle at some point and therefore we should not do this alone. For me, that is the point of church. If I can help a brother first or give a brother some work I would gladly do that. If I know a carpenter who can build me something I am not able to, or I have a mechanic that I know is a brother, I would gladly give a brother my cash first if I can.

The last part of this verse states that we should “fulfill the law of Christ” which is of course to love one another John 13:34-35 When Jesus was asked what the greatest commandment was, that was his reply. We love by bearing one another’s burdens! Simple huh?

God bless and I pray you are blessed today
TGBTG
TTE

2 responses to “Bear one anothers burdens

  1. Jonathan Caswell April 3, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    Each has his own burden to bear…somewhere nearby in that reference…but restore a sinner gently and watch yourself, lest you also be tempted. We become like a paraclete, under the Spirit’s guidance. Good job! 🙂

  2. Jonathan Caswell April 3, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    BECOME A PARACLETE…TODAY!!!

We value your comments, please leave a reply.

