Taking the Epistle

A biblical journey through the epistles

The millennium day

20140731-144237.jpg

The millennium day

2 Peter 3:8 (ESV) But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. 9 The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.

I know I say this a lot, but I love the letters of Peter, Peter is the one disciple that I identify with most for a few reasons:

1) His foot was never out of his mouth
2) He was also known with two names
3) He took forever to grow, but when he grew, HE GREW
4) He overthought things and his speech was often inappropriate
5) When someone he cared about was in danger, he came out swinging first (admittedly a sword of a soldier’s ear)

What this passage does NOT mean

I love this passage but it has been pulled in ways it never was meant to in order to suit certain agenda’s. The Gap theory people and old earth people have this claim as a banner flag to show that the creation account may well have been 6,000 years as opposed to 6 literal days.

This is not the case as the word for “day” in Genesis is “yom” which means “literal day” and not “a millennia”

What it does mean

God is beyond space and time, he can be literally everywhere at the same time and can be in all periods of history at the same time. When we read that “with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day” we get a glimpse of the expanse of God. (we serve a BIG GOD!) It also gives me a glimpse of what heaven is like. Reminds me of the great words of that hymn “Amazing Grace”

“When we have been there ten thousand years,
Bright shining as the sun
We have no less days, to sing God’s praise
Than when we first begun”

This verse to me talks about our patience (or lack of) in dealing with issues that God is working out “in his time”. I am the worst at this, in my time I have tried to hurry God, Counsel God, coax God into giving me my way when God was working all things to the good in his time. This verse also uses similar phraseology as Psalm 90:4.

I liken this to telling my daughter that we are going somewhere, at the time of writing she is a beautiful 5 year old girl, but when this blog posts I will be on a family vacation to San Diego. But from the moment I told her we were going on vacation then she has asked when it would happen. Like the child’s expectation that time would elapse quicker, such is the same between us and God.

Likewise, we got a monetary gift as a blessing recently, it came through the mail, but God taught us all about his timing in that he made us wait until it was in his time. Something that would normally take a week took nearly three and my faith that God would provide was at an all-time low. Amazing what lessons you learn when you are tested huh?

Which leads us to what Peter says next “The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness” This is where faith and patience come in. We read that he will fulfill his promise, if he has said he will, then he will that is a cast iron guarantee from the one who cannot lie. Remember how long Abram waited for his son.

God is longsuffering, he loves to give man more than enough time to repent, to get right with him, and he waited nearly 10 years for me to get my head on straight. God is compassionate, he is faithful and will do things in the correct time for God, I choose to trust the one who can see all time, can see how things pan out and has a reason for doing what is done. We get a glimpse of this when we look in retrospect and see how things clicked into place, God sees this going backwards and forwards.

And here is the reason “but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.” this speaks for itself and kind of flies in the face of a doctrine that states that God has “pre-destined” or “pre-elected” his chosen amount of people. God is compassionate and desires that none may perish but join his in eternal glory. Trust me, God has made plenty room for everyone.

My prayer is that if you have not made a commitment that you could join us in heaven, there is plenty room for you and I would love to stand next to you as I praise my saviour in his glorious majesty. Please get in contact should you wish to know more about securing your eternal destiny in heaven.

God bless and I pray this was a blessing, please share, comment and like as the LORD leads
TGBTG
TTE

We value your comments, please leave a reply.

