Taking the Epistle

A biblical journey through the epistles

Everything that kills me makes me feel alive

image

I write this shortly after watching the Emmys last night, as I type this I can sense that at least 5 legalistic who read my blogs are reaching for the big red x at the top right hand part of their screen.

Measuring the climate of a culture

I read a quote several years back that spoke of measuring the climate of the culture of that day that in order to assess what they were really like you had “to examine the literature that was popularly read at that time”. Today reading sadly is falling by the wayside as we get further and further strapped to our gadgets and I fear that unless I reverse the trend in mm you own house, turning the page of a book will be a forgotten art.

Anyways, back to the Emmys!  When I watch awards shows I realize how little TV I actually do watch, many of the shows mentioned I had never seen. I don’t actually have either DirectTV,  Dish or Cable & if I want to see a series that bad I will impose on someone else or wait until it comes on Netflix.

Back to the literature analogy, the writers of the books of that day had to make them relevant to the potential reader otherwise we would not have the evidence of their book to analyze and see what they were reading about. If it was irrelevant then it would not be popular,  the same with many of today’s shows.

Today’s shows have so much competition in both content,  genre’s,  channels and trying to engage the audience and get them hooked in as short a time span as possible. I have two feelings about this.

My 1st feeling is that as a Christian I should not have anything to do with it and avoid as much as possible.  It is true that many of the shows that become popular have really bad stuff in them in order to keep them as real as possible.

If TV affects you in a negative way then I would say that it is best to not allow yourself to stumble. In reality it is all down to the individuals walk with Christ and where your sin issues are.

But there is some value in knowing what is going on in the world,  it does allow you to keep relevant to bring the gospel of Jesus Christ to people, a way if you will of making conversation on a neutral ground?  If that is why then that is awesome.

The downside of popular TV

Because if this competition, networks have had to outdo each other, whether it has been more sex, more relevant characters, (gay, divorced, wherever Hollywood’s sympathies are that month) more alcohol, more drugs (and that’s just breaking bad) whatever they think will keep the public interested enough to stay with their show.

Wholesome entertainment

I will admit, I have bought into it as much as the next couch potato. However I do yearn for more shows like Duck Dynasty, ones that have a good overall message, Regrettably I am in the minority and these shows don’t sell.

I am not telling you, nor would I want to be your “Holy Spirit” that TV is all bad because we know that it is not. When John Logie Baird from Helensburgh,  Scotland first made pictures appear in that box, I bet he had no idea how wide ranging or far reaching his invention would be.

How does it affect you?

TV itself cannot make you sin, you and only you and how you deal with it is what makes you sin, is it removing time from what God has placed as his will and plan for your life?

The same could be said for anything,  it is only a sin if you let it become a consuming passion.

Why the title?

Well sin is designed to be a temptation.  Even as far back as the Garden of Eden,  we were tempted with something that would enrich our lives, however it was slowly killing us, hence the title,  it is in my opinion the perfect description of sin.

God bless and I pray this was a blessing please share, comment or like as the LORD leads.
TGBTG
TTE

We value your comments, please leave a reply.

