Taking the Epistle

A biblical journey through the epistles

Letter to my princess (from a loving father)

image

This is a letter that is written to my daughter from me, her father,  the man who was blessed to have been given custodianship from God. This letter is not in any format other than the way it rolled off my mind and onto the page. At the time of writing this, my daughter is 5 years old and behind my wife, the love of my life.

I compare the love I have for her to the love God has for us, the main difference is that God is perfect and I am far from it, I am reminded this in the Gospel of Matthew when Jesus says the following:

 

Matthew 7:7 (ESV) “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. 9 Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? 11 If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him

 

Really I am writing a love letter to the wee lassie who has become such a blessing in the lives of my wife and I. The quoted text is the letter to my princess.

Dearest Daughter,

1st Corinthians 13:1 (ESV) If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. 4 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant 5 or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;fn6 it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. 7 Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. 8 Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. 11 When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways. 12 For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known. 13 So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

I write to you as your father, the one who has been granted a unique place in your life and your heart. You see, what you see before you is what has been provided for you by God. Your very existence is a miracle that I am grateful to the LORD that he answered the prayers of your Mother and I,  he not only answered our prayers but confirmed it was him through scripture. You are an answer to prayer and our miracle.

I fulfill many roles in many people’s lives, to your cousins I am an uncle,  to one I am a brother, to mommy I am a husband and to Nana and Papa I am a son. But to you I am your Daddy. It is a task I take on with nervousness and also with pride.

Psalm 113:9 (ESV) He gives the barren woman a home, making her the joyous mother of children. Praise the LORD!

I am the man that you will compare all other men too, I am your first true love and I will always be there for you.  I will embarrass you, I will correct you, I will try to mould you into a young woman of God and hold you tightly until a man comes calling that is worthy of you. He will be a man who is much better than me and he will love, honor and cherish you.

I will be intrusive, I will shield you from harmful things, we will argue, but as long as I draw breath I will do what’s best for you. The liberals reading this will hate this, the conservatives will love it, but I do it for you, not public opinion.

Psalm 127:3 (ESV) Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward

I will be your first date, you will know a sense of your worth as a beautiful young woman and I will set in you standards and expectations that ensure you know to be treated by one who desires to win your heart. I will ask you to trust my advice in the matter of young men and please know, anyone who gets that opportunity will get a treasure that is worth more than any precious metal or jewel.

Proverbs 22:6 (ESV) Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.

It is my job to introduce you to Jesus Christ, to show you my redeemer. I have to love a life that shows that he is real, in my speech, in my decisions and be an example to you.

You will grow up in a Christian home, I hope (God willing) to be an example to your children and to leave you my theological library when I am gone. I had a Godly grandfather and it was such a delight to visit him and despite his failing years, the word of the LORD, hymns and psalms made him light up like a Christmas tree.

Ephesians 6:4 (ESV) Fathers, don’t stir up anger in your children, but bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord

I want you to learn from my errors, because I love you and don’t wish you to repeat and go through what I had to due to my bad choices.

You will have electronic devices, but we will set standards for usage and we will always have your password. We do reserve the right to revoke this privilege.

Deuteronomy 6:6 (ESV) And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart.7 You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. 8 You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. 9 You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

You will be home schooled, because your mom and I believe that it is best for you, you will always have friends and will.usually be ahead of the learning curve.

Regardless of the number of dollars in our bank account,  the amount of cool things in our house, wherever we live or whatever is going on as a sideshow, you will know that you are loved,  that Jesus loves you and we will always look out for what is best for you, perhaps not what you desire at that time, but we humbly ask for your trust that we have your best interests at heart.

Proverbs 20:7 (ESV) The righteous who walks in his integrity—blessed are his children after him!

I love you and in the same way God loves us you will always be my princess
Your Daddy

Proverbs 4:1 (ESV) Hear, O sons, a father’s instruction, and be attentive, that you may gain insight, 2 for I give you good precepts; do not forsake my teaching. 3 When I was a son with my father, tender, the only one in the sight of my mother, 4 he taught me and said to me, “Let your heart hold fast my words; keep my commandments, and live. 5 Get wisdom; get insight; do not forget, and do not turn away from the words of my mouth. 6 Do not forsake her, and she will keep you

I know this is not a usual post, but I pray this was a blessing and please share, comment or like below as the LORD leads
TGBTG
TTE

We value your comments, please leave a reply.

