Taking the Epistle

A biblical journey through the epistles

Iron sharpens Iron

image

Iron sharpens Iron

Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend. Proverbs 27:17 (KJV)

Why I go to Starbucks every Wednesday

I was going to name this blog article “Why I go to Starbucks every Wednesday” but I was unsure of the use of a corporations name in blog articles so I decided not to do so. Also the venue itself is not as important as what is going on during that time, so I elected to omit the company name as we could have gone anywhere for what we do there.

Every Wednesday (apart from once recently) I have been meeting with some good Christian brothers in the LORD for a time of fellowship and growing together in the LORD, we do memory verses and have edifying chat about issues that affect us and bounce ideas off each other about ministry.

From this gathering two of the guys go out to a local shopping place and talk to folks about Jesus. So ministry is growing from what started out as me and a buddy getting together as a casual deal as he was ministering to me, another got invited and we have between 3/5 guys on a weekly basis meeting and growing.

Why do we need this?

We all need this! Despite how much our natural man thinks we can “go it alone” (In my younger days I was the sensitive loner, had very few close friends and was probably being voted “most likely to be a uni-bomber”) But I had real issues deferring to other people and I still find that when I am in conversations one of my faults is that I dominate the talking.

Really I wasn’t as socialized as most others and even in this late stage of my life I am playing “catch up” as far as etiquette goes. I am grateful for those who love me, especially my wife who is super patient with me, but I have learned when I am going too far (sometimes)

We all need friends and good mentors to bounce things off and allow ourselves to be “sharpened” we have to remember that as Christians we are tools of the LORD to be used as the LORD wills, who would choose a blunt sword to go into battle with?

We have to get out of our comfort zone for the LORD, we can’t allow ourselves to become like King David at the end of his life, not fit for the battle and have to be rescued. We have to strengthen our homes and foundation so that when spiritual attacks happen, our homes will be strong and united against the slings and arrows that occur.

For the married folks

For the married folks, we also need to make sure we are going into battle as a team, I do not want to go into battle without the one I have pledged to live my life beside. When you marry you become a missionary team, whichever partner is doing unto the LORD, the other should be supporting them 110%.

I would love to say I have this down, but my wife would tell you otherwise. In my devotions recently I am learning about not loading my plate too high and designating appropriate time for the important people in my life. This is hard and here is why.

In my flesh I want to help everyone, serve everyone and I would be busy 24/7, but I have a wife and child. So my daughter needs quality time with her daddy and I have only a short time to help my wife mold her into a young woman who will serve the LORD. As for my wife, she needs a Godly husband as well as someone to lighten the load in the house.

Circle the wagons

Family devotions are the most overlooked area (and I am not faultless here too) in the home. This is really important that we do these as if we are serious about professing Christ then it must start in the home, I am ashamed when I think of the time I have wasted when I could be investing in my family.

When I am talking of wasted time I don’t mean time spent with family doing other stuff. I mean selfish pursuits, like in my case checking my phone every 5 minutes. Everyone has things they waste time on and I will not speculate further, but possible things could be internet usage, TV and movie time or whatever takes you away from quality time with family and with God. (Not an excuse to not help with the laundry or do the dishes)

Be called unto his purpose

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28 (KJV)

We have to follow God’s calling wherever it may lead. God will work it to his glory. But we have to be sure of our calling. We cannot elevate ourselves or interpret the will of God to our benefit. I have seen many folks turn the will of God into “deified versions of their will” and it turns into “My will be done” instead of “Thy will be done”.

A good example of this was an analogy given to me by a good friend who planted a church in London, England when he said “there are Go people and No people” folks who God has to hold back and ones that God has to send a loudhailer to move.

We have to be praying to find out what our calling is. Our lives will not have as much meaning if we are not being used by the LORD. (We will also feel something missing) I hope this 1000 or so words is a blessing to you and please feel free to check out our other articles.

I pray this was a blessing and please feel free to share, comment or like below
TGBTG
TTE

We value your comments, please leave a reply.

