Taking the Epistle

A biblical journey through the epistles

Thanksgiving week – Day seven – My parents

image

Thanksgiving week – Day seven – My parents

This is the seventh and final article in what I am thankful for, this one is dedicated to my parents.

In 1977 on the 12th day of the 12th month I was born in a hospital in Scotland in the UK. But the truth of the matter is that I shouldn’t be here. I was born a preemie baby and massively under weight. Nowadays that wouldn’t be a problem but in 1977 this was a big deal.

My parents were not Christian at that point, however they had folks in from the local Presbyterian,  Brethren & Catholic churches and my grandfather had folks come in from his church (Apostolic)

How is this relevant?

Well that baby you read about is a fully grown man who is still alive and writing to you today. God saved and preserved my life that day and despite the fact I should not be here, my parents learned a valuable lesson on the power of prayer.

Fast forward a few years

About thirty to be precise, and Mom and Dad begin to miss their son who went to love in the USA. They begin to go to the church we attended in Glasgow, Scotland. 
Dad gets saved and then Mom does, I attended Dads baptism four years ago. The change in Dad is unbelievable and a true example of Jesus saving grace.

From then on in we had another thing in common. Jesus Christ!  Dad is very much a changed person to where he was previously. 

Dad would be the first to admit that he made mistakes as a dad, but now that I am a father I also realize how much he sacrificed and how many balls he juggled in order to be a parent.

Dad & Mom, I love you and appreciate you more than you know. My prayer is I take the good parenting you did with me and do likewise with my daughter.

God bless you one and all, I thank you for reading this article. Please share, comment or like below as the LORD leads you too.
TGBTG
TTE

We value your comments, please leave a reply.

