Taking the Epistle

A biblical journey through the epistles

Psalms Saturday #7 – Psalms 43 – Vindicate me, O God, and defend my cause against an ungodly people

wpid-downloadfile-4.jpeg

Psalms Saturday #7 – Psalms 43 – Vindicate me, O God, and defend my cause against an ungodly people – 01/30/2016

Psalms 43:1 (ESV) Vindicate me, O God, and defend my cause against an ungodly people, from the deceitful and unjust man deliver me! 2 For you are the God in whom I take refuge; why have you rejected me? Why do I go about mourning because of the oppression of the enemy? 3 Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling! 4 Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God. 5 Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

This Psalm is both a plea for judgment and a prayer for deliverance, although it is just five verses it is rich in teaching moments. Let’s look it all five verses on a verse by verse basis beginning in verse one.

V1 Vindicate me, O God, and defend my cause against an ungodly people, from the deceitful and unjust man deliver me!

The words “vindicate me, O God” by the Psalmist shows that the writer feels that he has been burdened or unjustly accused and he has taken his plea to a higher court, the ultimate authority if you will, he is asking for vindication and for his cause to be defended against the adversaries of God, the ungodly people. These people are described as…

• Ungodly – We see in the next two categories what makes these people ungodly. He leaves his vindication up to the Lord. How we could all learn from this as believers.
• Deceitful – When you are dealing with people who are not playing by honest standards and are representing you in a manner that is not correct, it can be hurtful.
• Unjust – These people not only know to do wrong but know how to cover it up with unjust measures.

When you are dealing with people who just are not playing fair and you are being persecuted for God’s sake then you do the right thing by crying out to God. We have to be careful though as not all persecution is Christian related because if we are causing our own drama then by all means cry out to God but also do what you can to reduce the issue from your side.

V2 For you are the God in whom I take refuge; why have you rejected me? Why do I go about mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?

We see the reasons why the Psalmist cries out to God, he is the one that he takes refuge in, one who has protected him in the past and one that he trusts. God is his stronghold and his strength, which shows the relationship that the Psalmist has with his God. I would commend you to self-examine and see whether you call God these names and see if you have become cold with God. If you are melting like a chocolate teapot whenever you are in hot water then you may have your strength in God?

Because of his relationship with God he does ask why? Why have you rejected me? Why do I go about mourning because of the oppression of the enemy? I know I have had similar questions and what Christian hasn’t when they are being buffeted; we all think that God should arrange our lives in the way that we would want them. However we don’t always see God’s blueprint and see what is best for our lives.

V3 Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!

The great comfort I take from this is although the Psalmist is questioning, he is not detracted in his faith in God, he does have right to ask but he also praises God in the storm. He needs that light and truth and he desires to be led by them, it is vital to his spiritual wellbeing and he prays and is submissive in nature to the leader of the will in his life.

We learn so much about the Psalmist and why he was close to God, the submission to the will of God is tremendous, he began the Psalm lamenting about the wrong that he was having done to him but when he focusses on his God he culminates in a Psalm of praise once he has taken his issues to the LORD in prayer.

Part two has the terminology “let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling” he is being led by the light so he comes to His holy place and to his dwelling in order to continue to praise Him. For me the teachable moment is that once deliverance has occurred the Psalmist continues the praise. He wants to focus on the LORD with the people of God, he wants to dwell next to his deliverer. Such as the zealousness of this man!

V4 Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God.

He goes into further detail of the praise he wants to lift up to God, he is full of faith, energized from laying his burdens down at the feet of God, he wants to go to the altar and sacrifice when his answer comes and give praise of gratitude. He sings songs of praise to his God! This to me is great in that it shows the depth of his communion and something we can relate to as Christians as we also sing praises to God. When we are in that close communion with God then we will come to the house of God and praise will be the overflow of gratitude in our hearts as well as an outpouring of devotion between us and our God.

V5 Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

We see the psalmist change in his countenance when his prayer has been heard. How much do we need to hear this as we also have had times in our lives that we think we are not being heard by God or perhaps God’s timing is not as rapid as you would like? When we are mad at God for our circumstances it can sometimes be intensified by our attitude towards what we are going through.

The psalmist uses terms like cast down, turmoil to show his former state, he is looking in retrospect at what he has cast onto God when he was in the place of being cast down or being in turmoil, we don’t see that (and I believe that we would see) his troubles have ceased or changed but when he focused on God and focused in the hope he has in God, he is then lifted out of that dark place and is no longer discouraged or depressed about his afflictions. He chooses to praise him again because as he states he is “my salvation and my God”

God bless and I pray this was a blessing and please feel free to like, share or comment on here or whatever social media platforms you use as the Lord leads you to, as always I love questions about this or any other article so please feel free to fill in the form below, all comments are moderated to avoid profanity.
TTE
TGBTG
SDG

We value your comments, please leave a reply.

